Spark Core - Local control

hi i am new to spark core and stuff
trying to control a spark core using WLAN without network
can anyone help me?

Yes it can and there are several topics about the how to to be found via the search feature :wink:
And the firmware docs do help aswell.

Keywords to look for are “TCP”, “UDP”, “SYSTEM_MODE”, “SEMI_AUTOMATIC” & “MANUAL”.

1 Like

@Jeffery, to add to what @ScruffR said, you may want to start with the Tutorials sections which has great stuff, including what you are looking for :grinning:

2 Likes

i dont really understand some parts
first of all how do i code my spark without connecting to the network
i tried doing the Spark Core Compiling Locally but some of the sites are not working for me so i am unable to download some stuff

@Jeffery, by compiling locally, you can flash your Core via USB. You will need to get the tools installed on your PC to compile locally obviously. Which sites are you having problems with?

You are probably having trouble with dfu-util. Try this thread for answers:

How-toPlug your Spark Core into your computer over USB. When the Spark Core is in Listening Mode, open a serial port over USB using the standard settings, which should be:
Baudrate: 9600
Data Bits: 8
Parity: none
Stop Bits: 1
Once you've opened a serial connection, you have two commands at your disposal by hitting either w or i on the keyboard. Here's what they do:
w: Set up your Wi-Fi SSID and password
i: ("i" as in identify) Read out the Spark Core ID
NOTE: If you connect your Core over USB the first time, you will also need to manually claim your Core to connect it with your account. Please see the section below on claiming your Core for more details.

i followed this but i dont see a tut for the window putty so i dont really understand what to do
i tried some stuff but it's not working

i got dfu installed i think.
not sure if it's working till i try it

C:\Users_______>$ spark flash --usb tinker