Device Transfer Requested, Receive Email if transfer is approved or denied? Verifying Product Ownership issues?

Hello,

This is my first time using Photon and reaching out to the particle community. I attended an IoT workshop and received a slightly used Photon from the instructor, who used that Photon to guide us through the workshop. I have spent the last 2-3 hours trying to have Photon connect to an unsecured Wi-Fi network at school to test out the device. I initially tried using the particle app, and everything appeared to be fine until it failed at “Verifying Product Ownership”… I am using Windows and an Android device.

So I tried doing what Corey @ Particle suggested in the following thread: Photon Setup Failed at "Verify Product Ownership"

I updated to the newest firmware release 0.5.1 following the Particle CLI (easy method) instructions shown in this link: https://github.com/spark/firmware/releases
I then try reconnecting the device to the Wi-Fi network using the particle app but I would still get the same error with Verifying Product Ownership…

Next I try this method posted on: Will not complete setup via app [SOLVED]
particle login
particle identify
particle serial wifi
particle device add [ID] (where ID is replaced with the device ID shown when entering particle identify in cmd)

After running particle device add [ID], it states:
“That device belongs to someone else. Would you like to request a transfer?” I choose Yes.

Then it states: “Transfer #(a bunch of numbers) requested. You will receive an email if your transfer is approved or denied.”

In both situations, failure to connecting the device to a WiFi network seems to revolve around transferring/verifying ownership of the product.