I set up my photon using the particle app and everything goes well until the end when it looks like its connected since it is breathing cyan but I get an error message that reads:

Setup Completed
Your device has been successfully claimed to your account, however it is offline. If the device was already claimed before this setup then the Wi-Fi connection may have failed, and you should try setup again.

I’ve tried connecting through build.particle.io but it fails to connect. If I try to connect through the app then it shows offline on the app but online at build.particle.io but when I try flashing a program like blink it times out. I also can’t seem to star (select) the photon. It looks to me like it might not actually be connected. This is my first time playing with the device but so far it’s been a little frustrating. I’ve also tried connecting through particle CLI with no success (usually hangs up after trying to connect but never connects). Another interesting thing is I can signal to the photon and it will change colors.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Try Safe Mode.

Hello,
Does anyone know if this was resolved? I have three Photons (one I gave to a friend) that are all experiencing almost exactly this same behavior. In my case, with two of the Photons, I did not get the “…however it is offline” error message. My friend did get that exact message.

We can both “signal” the Photons and they respond correctly. But we just can’t flash firmware. There is no purple flashing from the RGB LED.

Also, I have noticed that if I try flashing the example “Blink an LED”, it says it completed successfully. But there is not purple flash and the LED does not blink.

If I copy the example to my own code, I get a timed out error when trying to flash. It is also of note that if I try flashing the example with no Photons at all powered up, I still get a flash successful message from the IDE.