[SOLVED] There was a network error while connecting to the cloud

I am a serious newbie. I am trying to connect my first Photon and have not been successful.

1. Attempt using the Particle app on my Android phone and I get the error “Setup process couldn’t disconnect from the Photon Wi-Fi network. This is an internal problem with the device, so please try running setup again after resetting your Photon…” I held down the Reset button until I got the fast blue flashing light. I released the Reset button and it starts blinking blue slowly. Tried connecting through the Particle app again and get the same message. Have done this more times than I can count.

2. Since I was having no luck with the Particle app on my phone, I attempted to try connecting using my MacBook. I am not very good at using Terminal on the MacBook but I muddled my way through and got the process going. However, it tells me “There was a network error while connecting to the cloud…” and “We need an active internet connection to successfully complete setup.” I did this several times as well all with the same result.

The MacBook Pro is on the wireless network, it is what I am using to type this message. I don’t know why the Photon is having issues.

Detailed instructions on how to get this to work for a newbie would be great!

Thanks

Ok do the following:

• npm update -g particle-cli (might need sudo in front)
  • place the device in DFU mode
  • particle update
  • place the device in Listening mode
  • particle serial identify (you will get the deviceID)
  • particle serial wifi (setup wifi)
  • Photon should eventually be breathing cyan
  • particle device add DEVICEID (be sure to use the actual device ID)
  • particle device rename DEVICEID name_you_want
1 Like