RGB not displaying anything, cannot reset

So I’m very new to all this, receiving the inventor’s kit for photon yesterday as a gift. So I was just about to start working on the first project “Hello world” and had the IDE open, and incidentally clicked the flash button when “blink an LED” example app was open. Now the RGB LEDs don’t show anything, the D7 led is on, and I cannot reset the Redboard. I’ve looked around to find anyone that had a similar problem, but I couldn’t dig up anything. Any help would be appreciated!

A couple of quick questions:

1. Can you put the unit in safe mode?
  2. Can we get a picture of your setup?
  3. How are you powering your hardware?

Can you put the board into Safe Mode?

Press and hold SETUP/MODE and tap RESET - as soon the RGB LED shows magenta release SETUP/MODE.

I tried, but it didn’t seem to change anything. Nothing flashed or anything…

Can you enter DFU Mode (hold till yellow appears)?

Any chance to post a video when doing the Mode selection?

No, i cannot get to DFU mode, I’ll send a link to a video shortly

No, I can not put it in safe mode. I just posted a video that shows what I have going on, and I've tried powering it with a battery and with the micro USB.

If you can measure the voltage on the /RESET pin, it should be 3.3V when the RESET button is not pressed, and ~0V when it is pressed. Maybe the RESET button is broken and holding the board in reset?

If you don’t have a meter, you can put a jumper in the D7 pin, and connect that to the /RESET pin. If the dim D7 LED turns off, the RESET button is shorted to GND.

If the D7 LED gets a little brighter, the pullup on /RESET is powering the D7 LED a little more… then if you press RESET button it should turn off the D7 LED. In this case the RESET button seems to be working fine and you probably have a bootloader issue which would be best resolved by using JTAG tools or getting a replacement board.