Problem with connecting photon using particle app

I have been using particle photon for a little while now with no issues related to particle App. but recently when I connect the device to the internet using the particle App I get an error message on the App saying “Setup process couldn’t configure WiFi-credentials for your Photon. please try running setup again after resetting your photon and putting it back in blinking blue listening mode if needed”.

I have been trying to configure the problem.

1. I updated deviceOs to 1.5.1
  2. I flashed the same code in different device. but still arrive to the same issue.
  3. When I flash tinker, the device connects fine but the issue comes only when I flash my code.
    Please note that the code I am referring to, I have been using it for over two years now in various Photons and it has been working just fine therefore I am not sure if there’s any updates in particle that are not compitable to one of my hardware.

Hi @katlego -

I recently had a problem with two Photons, one I managed to salvage using the steps below:

• Put the device in DFU Mode
  • Download and flash the following files using particle flash --usb through the CLI after making sure CLI is up to date:

i.e. particle flash --usb photon-bootloader@1.5+lto.bin

1. photon-system-part1@1.5.bin
  2. photon-system-part2@1.5.bin
  3. photon-bootloader@1.5.0+lto.bin
  4. photon-tinker@1.5.0.bin

After these steps your Photon should be back to factory settings. If not, I am afraid as with my second Photon, a debug shield might be the way to go.

Even though Particle Doctor used to serve me well in the past, I experienced the exact same problems you did on both Photons. If you have not tried Particle Doctor, it is worth a shot.

Hope this helps!
Regards, Friedl.

Hi,
we faced the same problem here with OS 1.5.0 and 1.5.1 on P1. Setting the credentials works fine with our code (used for about a year without any problems) only after downgrading to OS 1.4.4.