Particle Photon Stuck in DFU mode

Hi,

I have been running a photon for about 2 years and in general it has been working well and is running on 0.6.3. Today, it stopped responding and when I checked on it, found it flashing yellow. Strange. I figured that something odd happened, but now I am wondering if it is actually dead. Here is what I have tried so far:

1. Tried to get into safe mode, when I see the magenta LED and and release the setup button, it promptly starts fast blinking yellow.
  2. Go to the CLI and type “particle update” which appears to complete successfully but when the Photon restarts after blinking magenta briefly it starts fast blinking yellow again.
  3. Manually update the Photon using the dfu-util command. Same result (e.g. successful flash followed by a brief magenta blink on boot and then back to flashing yellow.)

I am at a loss what to do next. Is this thing just dead or am I doing something wrong?

Thank you.

Flashing yellow is a Keys issue I believe. Try searching this forum for “particle keys”.

Hi,

I am not so sure. Anyway, based on your suggestion, I went and tried the following:

Particle device doctor

The app successfully flashes new firmware (the particle reboots afterwards and is flashing yellow again). It then flashes the device doctor app successfully. The program then fails with the following message:

Blockquote
Flash success!
The Doctor didn't complete sucesfully[sic]. Could not find serial device. Ensure the Device Doctor app was flashed

Maybe there’s a bootloader problem?

Ping @rickkas7

1 Like

I have the same issue - did you ever get a resolution to this?

No, I never figured it out and just gave up. I think that it was dead.

Hey @ikendall (and @JL_678, if you still have your unit!)

A device going to an immediate flashing yellow state can sometimes indicate a missing device OS or user application.