New to Particle.. New to C++. Feeling overwhelmed

So. The title says it. I’m trying to make my photon board, run a 3 sensors at polled intervals, and log the data.

That being said, I’ve never done c++ before, I’ve spent the last few nights watching bucky’s C++, along with C++ for dummies books… but I"m really just not grasping it and it’s frustrating.

Can anyone give me some pointers on things I need to know to make my particle work?

I realize this is probably a repost, and I have seen a post regarding a new book for particle, that I will definitely consider getting; but I really do just need some direction as to where to start.

Thanks!

In addition to telling us what you don’t know can you give us some background what we could build upon?
Have you programmed before at all?
What languages?
What were the main concepts that gave/give you headache?

Before diving into C++ you could have a look into C (forget about the OOP stuff to start with).

Most time I am new to something like to Particle i start with a good explained tutorial which points in the direction I want to go. The good thing is you get a cool and working project really quick. Which gives me most time a good and motivated feeling to start with my own project after this. So maybe check sites like https://www.hackster.io/particle for tutorials which point in the direction your project goes. When you finished them try to understand what you need to change/add for your own project and solve that step by step.
If you run into problems just come back to the forum, people can help you way better if you aks specific questions about your problem. :wink:

1 Like

I have a limited experience with both html and java… but that’s really about it.