Complete novice with Photon on the way

Hi,
I am currently carrying out a Physics project and need a device to measure and record temperature over time. I am also very interested in making some other projects. After doing a bit of research, I decided to pre order the Spark Photon. I have almost no programming experience but I am very interested in learning. I have started a javascript course on codeacademy but ideally I would like to know what language I would need to write programs on the photon and an idea of whether writing a program like this is a realistic goal considering my position. I have literally no idea what I am doing so advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
James, a complete novice

The core and photon use C++ with some nice little functions to make it like the arduino language.

The main part of the code is already done, that gives the cloud connection and hardware stuff… i2c spi etc you just need to write your bit to make it do what you want

There are heaps of good examples on the forums to get you started

2 Likes

Glad to hear that you’ve chosen Spark to be your introduction into the wonders of physical computing(?) Since it was the first for me as well, I can truthfully say it’s great for beginners. Like stated above, the language is C++, which is always a good thing to learn. You’ll notice that there are a lot of similarities with Javascript, like (conditional) loops, variables and whatnot.
As far as your project goes, that is entirely doable, no doubt! If you check out the example page of the docs, you’ll notice the example of a temperature sensor. This should give you an idea of the code. Using that code, in combination with already existing online services, you’d have a logger up and running in no time! I’ve been using Atomiot for this very purpose, measuring temperature and humidity data for three months.