Help Me Fix My Freakshow Breadboard!

Hey Folks.

I am a programmer who is new to electronics but my first project is done and its time to get it off the breadboard OR onto a more ‘stable’ breadboard platform.

My frankenstein is a bunch of loose wires stabbed into my breadboard and is about as portable as balancing 10 china bowls on my index finger. Can anyone give me some advise on how to make my wire connections a bit more ‘solid’. Terminal Blocks? Different Pin connectors? Different Board ? I am all ears.

I may still make some final changes so I am not super keen to solder it up just yet. Thanks gurus. Photo below so you can see my horror show. I need something a bit more stable :smile:

1 Like

It looks like you’re using stranded wire. Using solid 22awg would probably help . In addition, 2.54mm Terminal blocks like these would probably also do the spiff things up. Also, keep in mind that when using a protoboard, desoldering and resoldering isn’t that big of a deal (though I might use pin headers so you don’t have to solder the actual Spark down). I’d recommend getting a good supply of solder braid though, and some liquid flux always helps I find as well when doing rework.

You are correct on the wire :slight_smile: Most are 10k sensors with stranded wire attached and boy is stranded + breadboard = headache.

Love the terminal blocks idea I was checking them out earlier this week but wanted to ask for some help before I blindly bought a bunch of stuff and find out you ‘pros’ have a way smarter way of doing it.

I own one of those protoboards but I have soldered exactly 3 boards in my time as an electronics ‘newb’ and good news is it was easy and all 3 boards worked after.

The only reason I am against soldering is because I am not that good at it yet plus I know the more I ask the more I am going to learn how to do things ‘smarter’. I am learning as I go and it shows the only aspect I am good at is the code :smile: