Developer Support Update | Boron Pausing and Setup Concerns

Hi everyone. My name is Matthew and I’m a Developer Support Engineer here at Particle. I work alongside David ( @ParticleD ) to support all the great people that use Particle’s ecosystem.

I’m sure a lot of you have been seeing David and me posting frequently in the community. While David and I work closely with Particle’s engineering team to work through any issues that come in through our internal ticketing system, we recognize that often times, there are many questions that can be answered by our community as well by sharing their own insights or experiences in the Particle world.

Therefore, as we are able, we like to pitch in and join in on community discussions to offer our assistance–especially for concerns that require an understanding of Particle’s backend and may require interactions with the engineers that built parts of the backend ecosystem.

As it so happens, we recently ran into one of these issues earlier last month. Some customers began experiencing an issue where they saw their SIMs pausing early

SIM pausing and double billing

As a result of our investigation, it appears that one of our MVNO partners recently updated the way data records are handled. As such, for a limited period, some records were being accounted for twice for a subset of users. This may have caused some SIMs to pause around prematurely.

It’s believed that the embedded SIMs in the E Series LTE, Boron 2G/3G, and Boron LTE could have been affected by this. It is not believed that our external SIM (such as the ones provided with the Electron) and were affected.

There also were a few identified customers that may have been charged twice. All identified customers have received refunds for this. If you believe you were one of the affected customers but did not receive a refund, please reach out to support and reference this post along with your invoice, specifying which ICCIDs you think were double-billed for.