Assemble Electron + Asset tracker

Hi Everyone,
I am a real newbie to electronics… I hope this friendly crowd will excuse me :smile:

I received last week the Kickstarter Electron + Asset tracker kit… and I am having troubles putting all together.

I managed successfully to register the Electron on the 3G GSM network and get it on line, but I could not find any hints or instructions on how to link the Asset tracker to it… how to put all together from Hardware point of view. Does anyone have any tutorials? There are so many information on the particle.io website but I could not find anything which helps.

Then I will work on software flashing… that will be fun also :smile:
Thank you a lot

GG

You Electron is obviously set up already (with antenna, SIM and battery).

So you just pop the Electron into the headers so that the pin names on the shield line up with the ones on the Electron.
And if you’ve got a coin cell, just push it into the holder (plus up).

That’s all you need to do to get started.

1 Like

Wow… just plug the Electron on top of the headers of the tracker… LOL… THANK YOU… sounded too easy :smile:

I did it… plug in… there are no less going on the tracker… guess I need to work on the software now.

Thank you

It looks like you have your Electron mounted backwards. You should do a 180 before you start connecting things.

1 Like

Hmm, I wonder why I wrote this :confused:
The way you mounted the Electron does exactly the opposite!

What it means:

Put the Electron so that
Vin on the shield is next to Vin on the Electron,
3V3 on the shield next to 3V3 on the Electron,
B0 on the shield next to B0 on the Electron,
C0 on the shield next to C0 on the Electron and
all the other pins should fall in the right places this way too.

But I have been surprised before :sunglasses:

@JoseJones, please more specific: 180° on which axis :wink: ? (one out of three)

1 Like

Thank you both,
I think I got it right now :slight_smile:

GG

1 Like

Looks better :+1: