Web Dev and Particle / advice needed

Hello!

Is like what Particle.io do for their web front ends and sits. Like the dashboard, etc.

I need to learn a new framework/language for my web interfaces for my devices. I have experience with languages like objective c and swift, but not much JavaScript.

So… In your experience what should I learn that will help me develop good responsive Uis… In real time… With a good bet for framework longevity.

If node… What frameworks, can you recommend a tutorial?

If angular… Same question…

Anything!!

Any help welcomed!! And appreciated!

What are the particle.io engineers using for their websites?

Well, I’m not a Particle engineer, but at the risk of making two Meteor-centric posts today:

Learn Meteor.

It comes with “real-time” UI for free – they call it Reactivity. If you’re just starting out it’s also not a bad way to become familiar with the general concept of web development because the Meteor tool will run a development server and database for you! All you do is write code, and it will update in real time in your browser.

The steps I would take are very simple.

1. Install Meteor
  2. Follow the tutorial.

That’ll be a nice dose of reactive HTML (aka Blaze), CSS and JavaScript, but in a way that you can see how and why it works.

They also have a package ecosystem, not dissimilar to Node, that will provide you tons and tons of functionality that you can summon with a single command.

So, to integrate Particle, you would just call on the Meteor NPM integration package and then declare the the Spark Cloud NPM module as one of your dependencies.

Then you’ll get access to the Spark object and all of the fun that comes with it right inside your Meteor JS.

1 Like

Awesome!

Any other tips?