Scalability and Reliability of Spark Cloud

I’m curious about a SLA for Spark Cloud. Even playing with Tinker I frequently get slow response times or general timeouts trying to set an output or check an input.

I’d be hesitant to roll out any sort of application that depends on Spark Cloud without getting some guarantees of availability/redundancy/response times/etc.

I’m going to ping @Dave and @jgoggins to comment on this one. Us users obviously haven’t signed any SLA, and I’m not sure if one is implied anywhere. I work as a web developer / jack-of-all-trades at a data center, so I’m quite familiar with SLAs!

For me, there may be a hiccup once or twice an hour (if polling every minute) with the individual Cores being unreachable. However, it’s difficult to pin that on any given point of failure (Core, wifi, internet connection, Spark Cloud, etc) without monitoring each one individually.

Personally, I’m waiting on the local cloud to be available before I pursue any “enterprise” projects. That way, I can guarantee my own uptimes and response times.

1 Like

Instead of opening a new thread, I’ll semi-hijack this one and put the problems I’ve encountered with the spark cloud in the past day or so.

• Save, then Flash flashes a previous version of the firmware I’m writing on the spark IDE.
  • Spark IDE fails to save and times out.
  • trying to access the API times out (curl) having good connection on both core and laptop, same with tinker.

Adding to that, I’d like to (again) raise the question about a local “spark cloud” that I could run on my own servers, maybe even locally.

I actually encountered that a few times this evening.

Saving should happen immediately. Did you mean that it fails to flash and times out?