Problem flashing Photon using Particle Dev in MAC

Hi, I’m new with Photon and I’m trying to flash my first example. If I try to flash it from Particle Dev in local, it says Success!, and my photon blinking as a normal process, but never installs my code, in fact, the default Tinker app is still there and works using my smartphone.

If I try to flush the example source code from the Web UI, it works !

I also found out that if I press compilation button, the xxxxxx.bin file is generated in my local. The strange thing here is, If I edit the code to introduce a clear syntax error, and then press the compilation button, everything compile ok, and no errors occurs… It seems as if the compilation (or flush) buttons are using another source code, and not my opened current file from my local editor.

Any ideas? Am I missing something?

Thank you for your help!
Diego

1 Like

I have seen this from my Mac as well, and the only way I could get it to work was to flash something – anything – from Particle Build (web) first. This seems to trigger a full-on firmware flash, as it takes a good 5-10 minutes to recover - but from then on, I can flash from Particle Dev.

I have two Photons – the process needed to be repeated with each.

Nice trick!, I’ll try it soon and back with the results.

Thank you,
Diego

I have had that problem and the above fix works. I wonder if my issue is related in some way?

I am trying to run some example code from the documentation (I am an experienced C programmer, h/w, firmware designer, etc.) but either there is something obvious that I’m missing (probable) or there’s a bug here (also possible).

The flash from Particle Build works. Flashing from Particle Dev continues to fail:

The code is the provided examples for the Web Blinky, without modification. Target is the Photon, current firmware is the latest update(0.4.4). Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.5.