Power / Code Inquiries with Servo and Infrared Distance Sensor

So I’m a regular newbie, who has been tackling this Photon world of Particle for a week now.

Im planning on purchasing the ‘Linker Infrared Distance Sensor for Arduino’ from my local Jaycar store, and want to use it as a trigger for a servo to hit a cymbal with its arm.

Would a 6V Standard Servo do the trick? If it is powered by a 5V wall plug it wont burn out the particle, the sensor or the servo?
Or do i need a bigger power supply so each thing has enough power?

Also, how do i go about coding the sensor so it triggers the servo movement?

Also I have attached a diagram for reference. The 5V and the GND are hanging off the top rail suggesting they are attached to a wall wort. What V/AMP should the wall wort be???

Thanks in advance!

You should definetly not have the 5V supply voltage hooked up to the 3V3 pin as your schematics show!
The Photon needs to be powered via the Vin pin when supplying with voltages between 3.6V and 5.5V
With the servo on the same rails you might also want to add some filter caps.

If the 6V servo will be happy with 5V supply should be tested :wink:

About amperage of the wall wart, the biggest load will be the servo. The Photon with 80-200mA and the sensor with 30mA should be no problem, but with the servo I’d go for a 5V/2A supply with low noise and ripple.
Also consider a less demanding servo, unless your cymbal/drumstick requires it.

So this diagram is starting to look more like a functioning, non-sizzling circuit?

Im looking to power it with a wall charger. The stats on it are;
INPUT 240V 50-60Hz 200mA
OUTPUT 5.0V 700mA

Will this be fine to plug into the power rail? If not, what are my best options? Please provide links if possible.

Thanks @ScruffR, considering I’m supposed to have this thing firing and operative by tomorrow, I appreciate this muchly.

You have a GND pin on the other side too :wink:

Seen my update above?