Photon to Photon communication using Publish / Subscribe

Hello.

I am very new to programming but not new to electronics. I am wondering if I can find some help here.

I want to communicate between my two Photons. I would like to connect five push buttons to each Photon and five LEDs. When a push button is pressed on one Photon I would like a corresponding LED on the other Photon to light. When the button is pressed again the LED should go off.

How would I best achieve this? I have seen Quantumly Entangled LEDs but because I want to control ten LEDs using ten push buttons I think I exceed the Particle limit for Subscribe/Publish.

I have a feeling what I want to do is achievable using just TWO (or even one?) Subscribe / Publish functions but I lack the programming nous to do this. I have seen reference here on this forum to there being some ability using a prefix filter to possibly work around this using a subscription handler but again, I sadly don’t understand how I would do this :frowning:

A pointer (ideally in simple/long winded code) would be awesome.

thank you

You could probably use a single publish to transmit the state of all buttons at once. If you ‘encode’ it in a binary string, you could have a series of 0/1 represent the states of the buttons/leds. 00100 would be the third LED on, for example.
How often do you expect to hit those buttons?

1 Like

Not that often - I plan to have one in my sister’s house and one in mine, and to use it as a sort of fun message telegraphing system.

encoding as binary string etc sounds good, but it’s the doing that that’s eluding me I guess!

So would each Photon subscribe to the publish of the other Photon ? And those Publish would be distinct from each other?