Help with spark.publish / spark.subscribe, please?

Hello! :blush:

I have received help elsewhere about this obstacle but unfortunately it's going over my head at the moment. Not...way over, about an inch, but, still - it's going over my head. I'm pretty good at "adapting" code, and adding to existing code, I've cooked up reasonably involved projects before on the Arduino platform, but I am not an experienced coder at all so would really welcome some help turning advice/help into actual code. I don't want to pester ScruffR anymore - who has been helpful and patient. Hence this new thread.

Background (skip if you're not interested!)