Suitability of Spark as compared to Arduino

Hello,

I am new to this platform but have used Arduino in the past. I have an Ethermega. This product looks fascinating. The website, videos and literature are phenomenal. I am so impressed.

Gushing completed…

I am wanting to create project whereby there are three mini banks of switches which are separated out within a normal house. Each bank of switches has, say, four switches and four LEDs. Someone at one bank of switches flicks a switch and an LED on an opposing bank lights up.

Trouble picturing it? If you think of it as a telegraph system or a riff on a butler bell system in a 1920s house you’d be on the right track.

So my question is, is this platform the right one? It certainly seems much preferable to Arduinos and connecting wires. But will the opposing bank respond quickly to the switch being flicked? It’s desirable the reaction to the switch is near instant.

The second thing is, to what extent is the Spark able to control and power things like LEDs? In a comparable way to the Arduino? I am going to want to switch 24v 1A, will I need a relay module or can I use a transistor?

many thanks for humouring me.

This should work fairly well with Spark.publish and Spark.subscribe where each core will publish their own event while the rest will "subscribe" to the other core events and change the LED status accordingly.

24V AC or DC? In either way, you will need a relay to as a switch to connect/disconnet.

The Spark core is Arduino Compatible but packs more capabilities/features so just think of it as whatever the Arduino can do, Spark core can do it as well but much better.

:wink:

You could also use a high-voltage MOSFET if you need PWM or generally higher switching frequencies than a relay can supply - like the BTS3104SDL which logic input accepts 3.3V to switch up to 60V with 6A

Enjoy! :sunflower: