Photon Can't Connect to WIFI

This is my first particle device so I’m a bit of a NOOB. I have a Photon and can’t get it to connect to WIFI. The photon boots to “listening” mode (blinking dark blue). I’m trying to connect to it via a Mac.

Here’s what I’ve tried:

The standard laptop setup

• The photon never shows up on wifi

The phone app setup

• Same problem

Connecting via CLI

• I’ve successfully (I think) updated the firmware via DFU
  • I’ve tried the PARTICLE SERIAL WIFI process and it hangs when trying to communicate with the modem
  • I can successfully get it to PARTICLE SERIAL LIST, but it times out when I try to IDENTIFY or get the MAC
  • I’ve also tried to flash it back to tinker with the same result

Any ideas?

1 Like

With particle serial wifi try to avoid any autoscan/autoselect options and enter your data manually

Thanks for your reply. I tried that and it still has when communicating with the Photon.

Can you post the full CLI output?

You could also try http://setup.particle.io

I tried the setup with no luck. Here's the CLI output showing my timeout issues with identify and mac:

lat-bcummings1:~ bcummings$ particle --version
lat-bcummings1:~ bcummings$ particle serial list
Found 1 device connected via serial:
/dev/cu.usbmodem1411 - Photon
lat-bcummings1:~ bcummings$ particle serial mac
! serial: Serial timed out
lat-bcummings1:~ bcummings$ particle serial identify
! serial: Serial timed out

Here's the CLI output of the serial wifi setup (manual only as you suggested). You'll notice that it stops on "Attempting to configure" it just hangs:

lat-bcummings1:~ bcummings$ particle serial wifi
? Should I scan for nearby Wi-Fi networks? No
Attempting to configure Wi-Fi on /dev/cu.usbmodem1411

Ah… Weird.

Can you disconnect and connect the Photon then place in Listening mode again before trying?

Otherwise, place it in DFU mode, run particle update before configuring wifi.

I unplugged it several times and ran the update twice. Same result.