Particle.io Indoor Project Case

In a previous thread (3D Printed Adapter Plates For Project Boxes) I began to explore the use of an adapter plate to mount Particle IoT devices and protoboards to commercially available project cases such as the Big Red Box. The next logical step is to 3D print the entire case!

In making a custom project box there are several considerations:

• Why do it? What are the benefits of a custom case?
  • What environmental conditions will the case experience: wet/dry/muddy/clean?
  • Will it be in direct sunlight?
  • What temperature ranges will the case be subjected to
  • What mechanical stresses or forces will the case be expected to support?
  • How big should it be?
  • What texture or material properties are you looking to achieve?
  • How long will it take to print?

I am by no means an expert so I am totally open to suggestions as this thread progresses but I have learned a thing or two and I have a dozen failed attempts to prove it! The best part about 3D printing though is the cost: this case was about $7 in PETG Prusament filament - you could use cheaper brands or use PLA in bulk which is half the price here in Canada. Either way it’s cheap enough that I can try stuff out without too great a penalty. And each iteration only adds to the repertoire of available designs - it just gets better and better each try.

The first question to ask is why do this? I think there are several reasons to make a custom project case:

• Custom sizing: I could never seem to find a commercial case that physically fit both the particle.io IoT device and the final installation space at the same time. It was always too big, small or tall to be useful and don’t get me started on the ugly industrial design look of commercial boxes.