Open Energy Management System

Hi everyone,
I’m a student at Aberystwyth University, Wales, UK and I’m currently working for my year in industry at the Centre of Alternative Technology in Machynlleth. My project here is to make a Open Energy Management system firstly for the site here which currently has 3 different non-inter operable OEM’s (Open Energy Management systems) and around 20 different buildings. The OEM I am developing will working alongside the room booking system we have here to heat the rooms which are booked. Currently an engineer has to go around and turn on the heating. The OEM will also monitor who is using the most electricity and heat around the site and eventually be able to take meter readings and measure the level of the reservoir we have here on site that gives us both drinking water and electricity (through hydro). I intended to do all of this with Spark core’s linked via TCP over a WiFi network we have on site and a Rpi which is located in the engineering office running a open energy monitoring hub modified to be able to both monitor the heat and send out instructions from the booking system.

Basic needs:

• Spark core’s talking to a Rpi over TCP and visa-versa
  • Spark core’s working as thermistors (Working)
  • A modified open energy monitoring Hub

So far I’ve faced some problems with TCP and so opted to try and use UDP and ran into the same problems which through help from the community I think I’ve narrowed down to the fact the site is in the middle of nowhere so has to have satellite link broadband. (Averaging 0.8 mb/s DL 0.15 mb/s UL)