List Discovered Wifi Networks

Hi, I am new to spark and am coming from an Arduino background. I am having trouble finding what I need in the spark documentation and so am wondering if what I want to do is possible.

I would like to be able to get the spark to scan for nearby wifi networks (SSID, security config) and report its findings so that I can display the list on an LCD screen. Once listed, I would like to allow the user to select a network and enter the pass code for it, then get the core to connect to that network.

I have achieved this on an Arduino Mega with a wifi shield using serially transmitted commands to the wifi shield then reading the result into an array, the LCD stuff is not relevant to this question as I have nailed that already.

However, Iā€™m not sure how the core behaves, maybe I cant talk directly to the wifi chip I donā€™t know. I was hoping there would be some kind of wrapper class for commands to the core that would expose this functionality to us coders as standard. I had hoped that the core would make it easier to play with the wifi chip that the arduino was. If anyone could expand this for me Iā€™d be most grateful.

I have found similar threads on here but nothing that seemed helpful in regards to this.

Thank you, Rick.

You can put the core in Listening mode and press w to send Wifi Credentials on the core.

I don't think we can be scanning the Wifi networks around the :spark: core and list them out. But maybe i'm wrong on this.

Hmm, if thatā€™s true then it kinda sucks.

Iā€™m building a device that I need to take to different locations and be able to hook up to the wifi in that area.

These spark cores are not simply an arduino with built in wifi are they, or maybe they could be with the correct firmware.

I really need a library that will enable easy access to the wifi chip so I can

• connect/disconnect (in code)
  • list available networks
  • report signal strength.