IP Monitor, simple, elegant, convenient - A maker kit project

Another maker kit project by a complete newbie… :slight_smile:

This small and simplistic device was born when a client approached with a simple, yet annoying problem, that needed solving. Visitors use network cables in boardrooms to connect to the Network and leave the phones unplugged without anyone knowing.

Scope:
The device, when connected to the WiFi, will ping all their IP phones on the network. Data will be published to a Ubidots Dashboard for easy viewing.

Prerequisites:

• Basic C/C++ knowledge
  • Basic knowledge of Fusion360
  • Ubidots account
  • Particle account

Disclaimer
Please take care when using high voltage AC. I purposefully did not include my actual PCB design as legislation in different countries may vary.

Step 1 - Enclosure design:

Designed a simple and safe enclosure to accommodate the custom PCB using Autodesk Fusion360. If you are more familiar with Autodesk Fusion360, I can highly recommend the following set go instructional videos by Lars Christensen. You will be designing simply enclosures in no time!

Step 2 - Custom PCB (Autodesk Eagle)

I managed to repurpose a previous PCB design due to the simplistic nature of this device. The PCB accommodate an AC/DC converter, Particle Photon, some resistors and capacitors, and finally some 5050 RGB LED acting as Status LED’s mirroring the Particle onboard LED. I suppose the device can be smaller (70mm x 50mm currently) but I had some PCB’s left over from another project, so I thought why not. I removed the components I was not going to use from the render.

Thanks to the RECOM RAC05 AD/DC converter, the design allows for the use of either high voltage (110V - 240V) to power the device OR 3.3V - 5V external power supply by simply setting the onboard jumper accordingly.

Step 3 - Code