IFTTT Particle Applets have gotten S L O W

I have been running a particle (photon) applet on IFTTT for 4+ years. Ran 8600 times. It responds to a published event and sends a text message. The IFTTT applet used to run within about 10 seconds of the photon event so the text message came quickly. Now it is taking anywhere from 2 minutes to 90 (NINETY) minutes to run and IFTTT reports an average of one hour. Of course, IFTTT blames particle.io for these delays. But the event I publish contains a timestamp and the Photon goes out every 15 minutes to update its local clock to ensure the time stamp is always accurate. So I can see the text message at 6 pm, for example, and read in the event that it triggered at 5:15 pm. .

This L O N G delay in receiving the text message has made this application nearly useless. To find out 90 minutes later that the even triggered is meaningless. Imagine if this was reporting a fire.

Is anyone else experiencing similar delays in IFTTT from published particle.io events? IFTTT just blames Particle for it.

Would you be interested in recreating your IFTTT applet(s) with the Webhook Trigger? You would need to create a Webhook in the Particle Console for each topic but you wouldn't need to change the firmware on your device.

I recommended using webhooks to trigger IFTTT in this thread:

1 Like

Yep, I’ve seen the same thing. Got so fed up with it a few months ago that I switched over to webhooks, they’ve run instantly and reliably ever since.

1 Like

I have used web hooks with IFTTT for a couple of years and it has worked reliably for a home project where it is active multiple times per hour 24/7.

1 Like