Assistance in custom design and prototype

Hello everyone. I apologize if this is the wrong section. I’ve been tinkering around a bit with an Electron and some various breakout boards to prototype a product I’d like. I’m at the point where I think I have a good idea of what components I’d like to see in a finished product. I’ve never designed hardware before and aren’t really sure how everything should go together (e.g. if I had ‘component 1’ do I need a certain resistor or capacitor or something). I’ve been a software developer for 15+ years and this little project has been my first jump into hardware. I’m not even sure if it would end up being something anyone other than myself would use. But I’d like to see if I can get it all together in a small, single package and see if I can make it work. It doesn’t necessarily need to use an Electron as a base, but if it didn’t, I’d still probably use the the same chip and cellular and flash it with the Particle firmware, as I like how it all works. I’m not sure if I’d save any size/space at all by going totally custom, or if I just had maybe a shield with the rest designed? So I’m wondering what some resources there are out there to help in designing a custom board? If I say “this is the MCU, use this component, this chip, etc” and have someone help me get it all together. I’m not really sure even where to begin. I’ve seen quotes of $10,000 for design/prototype service or as low as a few hundred dollars on sites like Fiverr. Since this is all foreign to me, I don’t want to go investing money into something that’s totally wrong. Especially if it’s something that I’ll never get a return on. Any advice/help is appreciated. Thanks.

1 Like

Wow, you're going to dive of a cliff here ... but that can be fun :wink:

Getting a bit of custom hardware together requires:
a. A schematic
b. A board layout
c. Ordering the board & parts.