Alarm for offline devices

This thread is very old, but I’m wondering if someone can help. I have absolutely zero expertise with this sort of thing, but I have a Particle Photon plugged into the same outlet as my sump pump. A few years ago I set up an ITTT applet to try to notify me (email/SMS/phone call) if the device went offline (indicating a power or internet failure), but it never worked very well (there was no adjustable timeout period, so I would end up with hundreds of alerts every week.

This seems like exactly the kind of solution I need (send me an email or SMS if the device is offline for ~10 minutes), but I have absolutely no idea how to implement this (it’s all way over my head). Could anyone point me to a guide or step-by-step that would help me set up something like this for my Photon? I have no programming knowledge (apart from Basic in the 1980s and writing simple batch files in Windows), but am not afraid of tweaking variables in code if it’s simple enough.

Any help would be much appreciated!

@jbroses

There are a number of ways to make this work but, I believe, all will require you to employ some “back-end” service to keep track of the last connection and send the alerts.

I use Ubidots to do this as they have a robust events engine that can sent email, SMS and even Slack messages.

You simply have your Photon send a regular (“heartbeat”) message to Ubidots using a Webhook or the Ubidots Particle library. Then, when the events engine notices a number of missed messages (you can set this value) it sends an alert.

Here is a tutorial on sending web hooks to Ubidots and one for events. Free to ask questions here if you go this route:

Thanks,

Chip

1 Like

Thanks so much, Chip! Of course, I want to add complexity here by seeing if I can find a free back-end service for this application. If that’s not possible, I totally understand, but curious if you have any thoughts on that.

Thank you again for this advice!
Jon

@jbroses ,