Particle Rules Engine - Alarm for offline devices

I’ve been really enjoying playing around with the particle rules engine. I’ve implemented real time alerts to slack following the guide at: https://docs.particle.io/tutorials/iot-rules-engine/real-time-alerting/

Near the end it describes a way to send alarms if a device hasn’t published something in 2 minutes or so. This is fine for 1 device or a few even. However when I have a fleet of for example over 10 devices, using the implementation from the guide would mean that I have a subscribe node for each new device in the fleet which is not really scalable.

I was thinking maybe I could fire off a node function every 10 minutes which checks/pings each device in a fleet, but I wouldn’t know how to implement that in the rules engine after retrieving all devices in the fleet. This would be something similar to a “for each loop” I guess. Any suggestions are much appreciated!

Getting a notification about an offline device* should be something we can setup from the dashboard. Without need of the rules engine. But at the moment the online/offline indicators on the dashboard aren’t robust/accurate enough for this.

• Obviously you’d want a for condition so the alert only fired if the device stayed offline for five minutes or more. And also you’d want to be able to toggle alerts on/off for different devices.

I made a rules engine example for this.

• It works with a product in the console
  • If any product device stops responding, a notification is generated
  • Automatically updates as devices are added to the product
4 Likes

Awesome, thanks Rick. Sorry to further extend this, but I’m not exactly sure how implement this for my whole fleet. I noticed that that the get device list particle api only returns 25 devices due to the pagination system. I have about 85. How might I go about doing a loop through the pages? Or perhaps I could change the number devices per page. Thanks again Rick, super helpful.