Would the Photon Shield Shield fix my temperature reading problems?

Please forgive me in advance for my lack of hardware knowledge. I am a software developer that is just getting started in hardware development.

I have previously built a BBQ thermometer using an Arduino uno. It was a typical project that seems to be common in that community. I used a Thermoworks TX-1001X-OP thermometer connected to a 10k resistor. With this I was easily able to get accurate temperature readings.

When I moved this to the Photon I quickly learned that it is not possible to use this same circuit as the photon operates with 3.3v vs the Arduino 5v (??? Correct me if I am wrong here)

Would the shield shield correct my woes I have with the photon currently? I’m looking for the simplest solution as I have previously mentioned, I am very new to hardware development. Another option I have looked at is a thermocouple amplifier such as this one https://www.adafruit.com/product/1778

If I’m not mistaken that’s a simple ‘thermistor’. Basically a resistor that changes its value depending on its temperature. If you hook this up in series, the voltage will divide over the resistors relative to their values, a so-called ‘voltage divider’. Equal value resistors will receive 1/2 of the voltage each. A 1k and 9k resistor will receive 1/10 and 9/10 of the voltage respectively.
Your current arduino setup assumes a starting voltages of 5V whereas the Photon uses 3.3V. Hence, those calculations won’t be correct without modification. Additionally, the Photon measures with higher accuracy, resulting in 4096 steps rather than 1024 on an arduino. This will also need to be taken into consideration.

You’ll most likely find both these numbers in an equation in your arduino code. If you modify them to their new values, you should be good to go. Give it a shot, and let us know if it work, and if not, where you struggle :wink:

2 Likes