ST IoT, Particle cloud constraint and other

Hello everyone,
i’m pretty new with the product and i’m still tinkering if i should buy it or not.
My main project will have to handle push notifications (apple and google), sensors and few other stuff. Since it will be an IoT project i’m looking around to see what the market can offer me.

My first question is why ST itself is just selling modules like SPWFxxxx where you are forced to use a board (you can’t flash a firmware on the wifi module itself from what i know).

The second question is if the particle cloud/API is a constraint you can’t avoid. Can i completely cut it off? For Android/iOS and the Photon itself.
As i said i will implement push notifications and i would like to handle GET requests myself (with ssl/tls) rather then be forced to use Particle API/cloud.

The main reason is that i would like to keep it as simple and as portable as i can so i can’t rely on Particle for this.

Regards,

1. If you use a module (which Particle is using one from USI), you will need to add all the necessary buttons, usb, power management ic etc before.you can get started.

Buying a Photon simply makes it easier to get started. You can buy the bare module (P∅ or P1) just like those sold elsewhere.

1. There is no constraint to use Particle cloud. You can choose not to use it if you don’t want to.

2. You can do pretty much anything you want since firmware is open source and you can obtain the wiced firmware from Cypress if you purchase from them directly.

The whole idea is that the Particle ecosystem makes it easier to connect to the internet, do stuff like webhook integration, pub/sub etc.

If you are looking to write your own stack per say, you are welcomed to purchase the bare module and do your own development.