Particle generation woes

Hi all,
I’ve got a new product coming up and the customer suggests using Particle. I’m a hardware and software dev that have benefited greatly from the Particle platform in my consulting life. Given my experience with the Particle platform and ecosystem (overwhelmingly positive), I should jump with joy, but I’m not. I’ve pondered this for a long time and my main problem is the lack of focus on radios that work well. If you make a product based on WiFi, you can rest asured that it will “just work” in any controlled setting. If a client is using your product in a factory, you do not know if they have cellular coverage, but WiFi can usually be arranged even if you are 50 feet below ground.

I’m not counting the Spark since that was just a dev board. To me, the first gen of Particle hardware was the Electron, Photon and the P0/P1 modules. These all worked well and when you had prototyped using the dev boards, there was a clear path going forward to develop your products. Particle had many pages on their website dedicated to explaining how you went from prototype to fully certified board. Great stuff! I have developed 3 commercial products based on P0/P1 for 3 different customers. It all runs well on a daily basis and many people can depend on these products.

The next gen hardware was odd. There was the huge E-series module and then it was the Argon, Boron and Xenon. I purchased a few of these boards when they arrived to do some testing. I couldn’t get the Mesh part to work at all, despite following instructions very carefully. Based on this I concluded that I was too early, so I left it on the shelf for a year. I then tried again, had similar issues and decided to not use this in any product.