Publish data to particle cloud from my own server

Hi,

I want to publish data to particle cloud from my own server. Argon device will be listening to the events and toggle led. Here I want to create my own server and publish data from my server to particle cloud. I am new to java script. I am not sure how to create my own server and publish data to particle cloud. Could you please help me if you have any example?

Hi, and welcome to the community!
The scope of an answer is kind of big.
You can create your own server by starting a linux VM in any cloud provider: Google, Microsoft Azure or AWS (or any!). Then you install node js in it, and code away something in js to hit the Particle API.

But even better, can you explain what you want to achieve? Maybe there are easier solutions…

@gusgonnet thanks for your quick response.

I don’t want to use any cloud provider like Google, Microsoft Azure. I just want to create simple server of my own and that server has to publish/send data to particle cloud. I will use Particle.subscribe() on the device itself so device will be listening to the events and toggle accordingly

for this you can install Linux in a server of your own:
https://ubuntu.com/tutorials/install-ubuntu-server#1-overview

then install node js in it:

Once you have that you can look at the ParticleJS:

And look at the particle API docs:

PS: you do not need a server right now, you can start coding away on your own computer, then create the server later on.

Thanks for the clear explanation.

Instead of installing ubuntu server,

I will install node.js in bash terminal and then I will manage/publish data to particle IoT device using

Is this works?

Hi,
not really sure what you want to achieve ? get the data from some sensor and display in web browser ? or trigger some relay on/off ?
if this is the case so check this out:

on Linux you can use SimpleHTTPServer and run it with
python -m SimpleHTTPServer 80 (no needs for node.js)