Photon(P1) device with Particle disconnected,but with WiFi (internet)connected

Hello All,

This thread is to discuss on the following device behaviour:

Photon(P1) device with Particle disconnected,but with WiFi connected.

(Background)
We have series of devices with the above observation. These devices are expected to pump data from connected sensors to a server over HTTP every minute. However, the behaviour is not as expected. It sends data at irregular intervals,sometimes with a gap of ~2-3 hours, resulting in tremendous data loss. Apart from that, device is also disconnected from cloud. Devices are not directly accessible as they are already deployed.

I would like to initiate a discussion and get opinion from experts on the possible root causes of the above behaviour before I jump to debugging the software.
(I am new to Particle system and just started working on this already deployed software.)

Thanks.

1 Like

I can’t quite understand your problem description.
Does your topic title state what you intend to have or what your devices do, but you are not happy with?

If you want your devices disconnected from cloud but WiFi connected, the first info you’d need to provide:

• What SYSTEM_MODE() do you use and do you have SYSTEM_THREAD(ENABLED)?
  • Also what system firmware version have you got on your devices?

On the other hand, if you see the devices still internet connected but not to the cloud and still have issues to reach your HTTP server, it might suggest that you have chosen the wrong SYSTEM_MODE() and/or inadequate actions to reconnect after connection loss.

Possibe root causes for any connection issues are so different and many that your description needs to provide some more detail in order to allow for focused analysis and feedback.

@ScruffR, Thank you for the response.

Does your topic title state what you intend to have or what your devices do, but you are not happy with?