Photon i2c doesn't work, Arduino i2c works, with oscilloscope waveform

So I’m trying to use the Photon to read a HTU21D sensor from SparkFun, and I never get a response from the sensor. So I hooked it up to an Arduino Uno, and it reads the sensor fine every time.

I happen to have an Xprotolab Portable sitting around that I’ve never used before, so I decided to hook it up and see what it can show me. In I2C sniffing mode, it is reading “40) 40(” , which is “write to 40, NACK; read from 40, NACK” which sounds like a sensor problem. When the sensor is hooked to the Arduino however, the sniffer reads “40> f3+ 40< 66+ 84+ b1-”, where the > and < are ACK, and basically means reading and writing data is working correctly.

Now to figure out what is wrong, I hooked up the oscilloscope channels to SDA and SCL and grabbed some waveforms. I did some fancy image editing to put the Arduino and Photon waveforms on the same image:

As far as I can tell, the biggest difference here is simply that the Arduino waits longer after pulling SDA low to start transmission, where the Photon doesn’t wait very long. I’ve looked in the Photon firmware to see if I can find where the code is for the i2c protocol, and I think it needs to go around here but I’m not sure with all the interrupts. Would it be bad to just busy-wait before the I2C_Send7bitAddress function until a certain amount of time has passed?

If someone has any insight, I’d love to hear it. I’m happy to try modifications to the firmware.

Hi @ricochet1k

There have been some changes to the Photon software to work around problems in the hardware implementation of i2c in the ST Micro ARM processor, so it makes a difference which version of the system software you are running. You should be running 0.4.7.

Some folks using this sensor have said that there are differences between the Adafruit and Sparkfun libraries and that they might not be inter-operable. Search the forum for details.