Particle Mesh will ship in October

Particle Mesh will ship in October

Hello everyone!

My name is Will Hart. I’m a General Manager at Particle responsible for leading our investment in new wireless technologies like Mesh networking and LTE M1.

Today we sent an email to all of our preorder customers to inform them that there have been delays during hardware development. Particle Mesh hardware will now ship in October 2018.

I understand that this is disappointing news to many of you who are anxiously awaiting your Particle Mesh hardware. We have been working very hard to make a September delivery date possible but encountered several unexpected delays in development that have made that impossible.

Openness is one of our core values at Particle, and it also is the purpose of this post. I want to provide to you a glimpse behind the corporate curtain and share some of the challenges that have led to this delay. I also want to share some of the triumphs we’ve achieved since the announcement of the new generation of hardware in February.

If you have any questions about the update below, I encourage you to ask them here in the forums or by visiting our support portal.

Where we are today

According to our delivery plan, we should be in the middle of mass production for the Argon, and completing mass production for the Boron by the end of the month.

Today, we’re wrapping up mass production for the Xenon and preparing to start mass production for the Argon, which puts us 4 weeks behind schedule.

Although we’re disappointed to share this delay with you, we’re incredibly excited about the product that we’ve built, and have achieved the following milestones that will de-risk the remainder of the product development process:

All hardware is locked down

All hardware design files for seven new Particle products are final, and PCBs (Printed Circuit Boards) for mass production ordered.