"particle flash -- serial" usually fails on Electron

I’m new to the Particle platform and have an Electron board on loan from a colleague which I am trying to use for some rapid development. I am compiling in the web IDE, running the target in MANUAL mode and then flashing it locally with the downloaded .bin file from a Windows machine. I’m using PuTTY to read my local debug messages from the USB port and I make sure that PuTTY is not running when I’m trying to flash the board. I’m using the short USB cable that came with the Electron board.

All of this is working, except that flashing is unreliable. When the device is in listening state (blue flashing LED), more often than not, when I do the “Press ENTER when your device is blinking BLUE” bit, the blue flashing LED either goes off or stays on and the CLI reports:

! serial:
Error writing firmware...Timed out waiting for initial response from device
undefined

Very rarely (maybe one time in 10) does it go rapid-flashing-magenta and begin the download and often, when it does, the magenta goes solid and the download reports a time-out.

! serial:
Error writing firmware...TimeoutError: timed out after 10000ms
TimeoutError: timed out after 10000ms
    at onTimeout (C:\Users\rob\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\particle-cli\node_modules\when\lib\decorators\timed.js:6
9:7)
    at null._onTimeout (C:\Users\rob\AppData\Roaming\npm\node_modules\particle-cli\node_modules\when\lib\decorators\time
d.js:13:4)
    at Timer.listOnTimeout (timers.js:92:15)

I am running firmware 0.5.1 on the device, Particle CLI version 1.14.2 on the Windows machine and using the Electron USB driver version 5.2.0.0.

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

1 Like

Hey @RobMeades,

We’ll do our best to figure out what’s going on. First, can you confirm that you are building the firmware for the Electron? Make sure in the Web IDE that you’ve selected it from the Devices section.

If you are running in MANUAL mode, are you making sure to run updates