Particle First time user Onboarding Experiences!

Hey all,
I’m a new product manager at Particle & I’m diving into the Developer experience for our products. One of the areas I’m particularly looking at now is the new customer onboarding experience.

Today I see customers sign up for developer accounts, go to our store and buy hardware, setup the product & then use our Web IDE or Workbench to write code against it.

As a newer user of Particle myself, I personally looked to the documentation, youtube tutorials and community for help to get my Argon device up and running. Once I got to flash the device over the internet & blink an LED - I had my first Aha moment :)…and then got to coding my next iteration.

I’d love to hear from other folks, understand your experiences, things that went well and what we could make better! Look forward to hearing from everyone…

Best,
Shaykat Chaudhuri

1 Like

While BLE is a nice feature the Argon has over the Photon, I still miss the possibility to setup the device entirely over WiFi via SoftAP - the NCP would support it.
This way it would not be required to have any mobile app or CLI in order to get me going. Any WiFi enabled device with a browser would suffice.
In the same direction - but not in connection with onboarding tho' - it would be nice to have the a mixed STA + AP mode (this was something "promised" for the Photon/P1/P0 but never materialised although still sought after: e.g. here)

8 Likes

Noted. thanks for the feedback ScruffR!

I’d also question the need for a mobile app to setup a Boron.

It may have made sense while mesh was a thing and the factory image was only half-backed, but since that’s all history a pure web based setup like we had with the Electron should be doable and may be preferred by some (e.g. myself).