Need help with remote vehicle start

I’m very new to the Spark board and I would like to set up the Spark Core/Photon to remote start my car. My plan would be to use the Core to virtually press the buttons in my key fob. From what I’m reading, it looks like I could use a solid state relay that the Core will control to close the switch (press the button).

Can someone recommend a relay to use? My fob (part# 92201609) runs on a 2032 button battery which outputs 3V.

How would I wire the relay to the Core? What terminals on the Core would I use to wire to the two sides of the button?

My car requires the lock button to be pressed and released, and then the start button to be pressed and held for about 2 seconds. Could I program the Core to “hold” the start button?

I would really appreciate any help or links anyone can provide.

Thank you,
Cody

1 Like

Can you post a picture of the top and bottom of the fob’s circuit board? You may not need to use SSRs at all if the thing is 3.3v tolerant

Thanks for your reply.

I was wondering about being able to use that similar voltage to my advantage. It should be able to work with the 3.3V just fine. I’ve read where some people have used two type 2016 3V batteries in place of the single type 2032 3V battery to up the voltage to 6V to get more range with their fob (using the same fob part number as mine).

Would I be able to wire the Core directly to the fob? I’m able to simply jump the switch with a short length of wire, so basically, that’s all I’d need the Core to do. The lock button is in the center of the fob, and the start button is in the upper left in this picture. I’d have to do some tiny soldering to connect to the two sides of the switches.

Would there be any trouble using the Tinker app to program the Core to “press” the lock button, then “press” and hold the start button?

Thanks for your help,
Cody

1 Like

Cool! Thanks for the pics. It’s great to hear that the FOB is fairly voltage tolerant.