Multiple Digital inputs

I am fairly new to coding and I am wondering the best way to approach reading several inputs at a time. I have an application with 9 digital inputs so I will have several digitalRead in my loop. They will be connected to sensors that are counting each time one of the 9 are triggered. I need some thing like:
digitalRead(LC1, LC2, LC3…)
if val of (LC1, LC2, LC3…) == HIGH
count++

You could use interrupts so you don’t have to poll the sensors continuously. Also, if you don’t care which input gets triggered, you might be able to connect them to a single pin and just use that.

What exactly are you trying to achieve?

It’s being used as a counter for a machine processing food, the machine has 8 lanes with 8 photoelectric sensor. The other input is a proximity sensor that will initiate the start of a new cycle. each cycle I need all 8 sensors to read whether high or low, if high there is a piece of fruit present, if low that lane is empty etc.

int LaneCount1 = D0;
int LaneCount2 = D1;
int LaneCount3 = D2;
int LaneCount4 = D3;
int LaneCount5 = D4;
int LaneCount6 = D5;
int LaneCount7 = D6;
int LaneCount8 = D7;
int CycleCount = A0;
//functions
int val = LOW; //variable for reading pin status of Prox
int val2 = 0; //variable for reading photoelectric
int counter = 0;
int currentState = 0;
int previousState = 0;

void setup(){
//we are going to tell our device that D0-D7 and A0 are going to be inputs
  pinMode(LaneCount1, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount2, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount3, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount4, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount5, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount6, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount7, INPUT);
  pinMode(LaneCount8, INPUT);
  pinMode(CycleCount, INPUT);