Send it once until

Hi,

I am still a newbie to coding for Particle. I created a script to send out an alert when an input sensor to A0 is higher then 0, the problem is that I keep getting the alert multiple times until the sensor connected to A0 is 0.

Anybody a hint how I should write the code so it will send me the alert once. It may send it a second, and third time etc, but only when it first reach 0.
Thanks in advance.

My current code:

static int button = A0;

void setup() {
    pinMode(button, INPUT);
}

void loop() {
    int alarmstatus = analogRead(button);
    if (alarmstatus == 0 ) {
        // button pressed
        Particle.publish("pushbullet", "This is the alert text to pushbullet", 60, PRIVATE);
    }

}

There’s a couple of things going on;
If you’re trying to read a button, or any “on/off - High/Low” sensor, you’re talking about binary states, in which you’d use a digitalread.
You’ve got to make sure your pins aren’t ‘floating’, since that could give false readings. Pull-ups/downs help, depending on your setup.
Seeing as you’re not using any delays, you’ll blow through the publish limit near instantly.

The code you posted should do the opposite of what you say it's doing; it should only publish when the reading is equal to zero, not when it's above zero. It would be helpful to know what kind of sensor you're using. Relying on an analog sensor to read all the way down to zero is probably asking for trouble. Is your sensor actually analog?