Looping inside the loop

Hi Everyone,
Good day. I’m just a newbie in spark core. I have some queries regarding about the looping… I want to loop the digitalWrite…I hope you could help me to figure this out :smile: it seems that all leds that i initialized doesnt lit

int led1 = A5;
int led2 = A4;
int led3 = A3;
int led4 = A0;
int led5 = A1;
int led6 = A6;
char led[5];    
void setup() 
{
    // ***init*** //  
  pinMode(led1, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led2, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led5, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(led6, OUTPUT);
}
void loop() {

for (int e = 1; e < 7; e++) {        
    digitalWrite(sprintf(led,"led%d\n", e), HIGH);   
    delay(100);                  
    digitalWrite(sprintf(led,"led%d\n", e), LOW);
  }

You don't need to use sprintf - that creates a string. digitalWrite is expecting simply a pin number.

You can do it like this:

int leds[] = { A5,A4,A3, A0, A1, A6 };
    int ledCount = arraySize(leds);
    void setup() {
       for (int i=0; i<ledCount; i++) {
        pinMode(leds[i], OUTPUT);
       }
    }

void loop() {
          digitalWrite(leds[i], HIGH);
       }
       delay(100);
          digitalWrite(leds[i], LOW);
       }
       delay(100);
    }

Also notice that with arrays, the first value is at index 0 - if you asked anyone else to start counting they would start "1, 2...", it's quite strange that we programmers count from 0, but that's how it is! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I tried to compile your code @mdma and there are a bunch of typos that prevented me from doing so… the extra ) in the for loop was kicking my butt for a little bit.

int leds[] = { A5, A4, A3, A0, A1, A6 };
int ledCount = sizeof(leds)/sizeof(leds[0]); 

void setup() {
    pinMode(leds[i], OUTPUT);
  }
}

void loop() {
    digitalWrite(leds[i], HIGH);
  }
  delay(100);

digitalWrite(leds[i], LOW);
  }
  delay(100);
}