Issues porting Adafruit EPD ThinkInk library

Hey there everyone. I’ve been trying to port over Adafruit’s EPD library v4.4.0 in order to use Adafruit’s 2.9" Grayscale eInk / ePaper Display FeatherWing. I’ve been having a couple issues with this, so here is what I have done thus far.

I first forked @rickkas7 Adafruit_EDP_RK library and tried to check for similarities before woking off of the new version. Then I imported the new v4.4.0 library and encountered a couple errors related to MISO declarations. I fixed these errors by manually renaming each MISO int to spi_miso. You can see this in my commit here.

The example titled ThinkInk_gray4.ino now compiles and flashes to my Argon, but I still don’t see any activity on the display. I can also see the serial output on my computer, so I know that the example program is running. I’m relatively new to migrating Arduino libraries into the Particle platform, so I’d greatly appreciate any help here. I’m more than happy to provide any more info that I missed. Thanks!

@RAkerman @ZinggJM may be able to help you or you may learn enough from his great EPD libraries. Personally, not Adafruit EPD library, I find the Adafruit libraries can be tricky to understand and port because they have been written for multiple processors. If the program compiles then are you sure of a. the waveform being used and b. even simpler - is it correctly connected/there isn’t a connection wire broken?

Thanks for the insight. I’ve triple checked the pinouts, tried with another identical board, and set the SRAM_CS pin to -1, but still no dice. As far as the waveform goes, I have no idea what it is and I cannot find a variable/function that could modify it. I guess I will continue to tinker around with the library, but there are still no updates at all on the display.

And you have pull-ups on SPI MOSI, DC/RS and CS?

The waveform is an array of bytes that contain commands and values that are unique to each display.