I'm Starting a Ruby Wrapper for the Spark API

Have a look, I started this today, so there is work to be done. But it’s be cool to consolidate efforts if others are interested.

https://github.com/nixpulvis/spark-ruby https://github.com/efatsi/ruby_spark

Care to combine forces? I whipped up this guy to handle IO API calls. https://github.com/efatsi/ruby_spark.

Looks like you are wrapping the tinker API. I’m more interested in wrapping the Cloud API. Combining these should be pretty easy.

I see from looking into efatsi’s Github that you guys have Tinker wrapper running. I am going to play with that tonight. Did anyone ever build a Ruby or Rails wrapper for the Cloud API? I am a beginner Rails developer and am new to API dev… any ideas?

1 Like

I think @jgoggins has started playing with a ruby wrapper for the API so he might be able to provide some pointers.

This gem would be the start of what you want. It’s missing some features like firmware flashing. But depending on what you want you could just use it from within Rails.

1 Like

link fails, did you move this gem elsewhere?

I joined with @efatsi, see revised post.

awesome, thanks. I am just getting started with RoR and was hoping for something to learn from.

@nixpulvis @efatsi YES!!! I really like how you’re wrapping the API here, it looks like a pleasure to use. I’d love to contribute to this. Also, it’s great y’all have joined forces, I hope I can throw down something useful too.

Right now all of the Ruby Spark API encapsulation stuff I’ve done is cooked into an internal gem we’re using here at Spark for various Opsy types of things. I’m going to figure out a way to break it into a separate public gem that this project could utilize or perhaps fork this project and issue a pull request. I’ll be sure to carve some time out during the next week or two to make this happen.

Awesome man. I’d say the join should be a single gem that wraps the whole API, with as few dependencies as possible.