I removed the regulator to revive a Photon

I had two Photons that I thought were just trash since I had burnt something and saw smoke and then every time I powered it up, it heated like dangerously bad so I stopped using them, until yesterday that I read about physically removing the regulator and to my surprise it worked (after removing the regulator and connecting the Pins of 3v3 and VIN).

I am a complete noob so I would be appreciated if some few points are made clear to me:

1. why does this setup (regulator-less Photon) only works when 3v3 and VIN are connected?

2. nothing bad happens if I connect the two GND pins right?

3. I have been able to power up them via microUSB (from laptop and wall cellphone charger) and from wall cellphone charger but with a split wire of (+) and (-) where I connect it to Photon (to the 3v3 and VIN since I have connected these pins at all times). This leads to the questions:

3.A) I noticed that my wall cellphone “TURBO” charger but with split wire of (+) and (-), would not work and Photon D7 and main-led will blink blue and White respectively (I had a NeoPixel connected but this is probably unrelated, but don’t want to connect again like this without the NeoPixel to see if that was the problem as I doubt it), but my non “TURBO” charger with same setup works, what is happening here why TURBO charger is bad?

1. in the case I power from microUSB, do I get 3v or 5v output on my 3V3 and VIN pins (remembering that they are connected)? Or does this depend if I am plugged to the wall or to a Laptop?

2. are there risks to use this Photon without its integrated regulator, if so, which ones?

thanks, I hope most of the questions are basic enough for the knowledged and I appreciate any time put in answering this, might help to not burn the Photon dead or start a fire in my room o.o

If you really removed the regulator you would not need to connect the Vin pin as it is then isolated from the rest of the board :wink:

See here