How to wire up a ceiling fan with Particle Photon?

So I have a ceiling fan that I’d like to connect to my Particle Photon so that I can control the fan and the lights connected to it. I’m a beginner and the only experience I have is connecting my photon to a servo and using it to open/close my window blinds. So I’d like to ask the community what I will need to make this happen.

I noticed the wall switch that controls my ceiling fan has black, red, and ground wires connected to it (3 total). I read online that if the lights and the fan are controlled by a single switch, then both the wires for the light and fan are joined together with the switch’s black wire. That’s what I think is going on here (see photos below). I have a breadboard and jumper wires and planning on powering the photon via the USB for now. Are there any other pieces I’m going to need to make this work or can I just hook up the wires that are on the switch to some of my jumper wires and connect them to my breadboard (to some PWM pins)? Thanks

@dag.io, the first think I would do is search this forum for “ceiling fan”. Second, working with AC can be a dangerous for both you and your Photon. The fact that you ask about connecting the wires directly to your photon and use PWM tells me you are not prepared nor knowledgeable enough to do this. So please, before you do ANYTHING, read those other topics you will find in the search and THEN come back with your questions. And please, don’t do anything without an electrician.

5 Likes

I would second this, PLEASE PLEASE don't mess with any wires inside your walls unless you really know what you're doing. You will hurt and possibly kill yourself !!!

taken from a DIY site:

If you don't know what you're doing, electrical work is one of the most dangerous things to attempt to DIY. After all, if you mess up a paint job, you've just got an ugly wall. If you mess up an electrical job, it could mean a fire, muscular paralysis, or even death. It's that serious.