How to send large file from Particle to server?

Hi all,

I am new to the Particle.io IDE/hardware. I am working on a project to record 10 second audio samples then store them in a cloud somewhere.

Right now, I’m thinking about recording the ADC into a buffer, then would like to send that to a database on a cloud to be converted to a .wav file, further FFT analysis etc.

Does anyone have suggestions (high-level are ok) on how to best do this? The Cloud API does not seem to have anything that supports this kind of data transfer (e.g. particle.publish)

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

I am working on a project that does a lot of what you want.

I am using (currently) a SD card to store the samples - I will stored 1 second at a time because as I am sure you have found out there is not enought memory to store 10 * 16000 (Hz) * 2 (Short) on a photon.

Ultimatly if the SD card causes to much in the way of gaps between the 1 second samples, I have a cunning plan to use a pair of 4Mbit FRAMS in high speed DMA mode.

When you say ‘store in the cloud’ would I be correct in saying that you really mean ‘store off the photon’? If so I would contemplate using a TCP/IP transfer (many examples in this forum).

If I was doing it from my photon I would connect to a program on my MAC that stored the data into a MySQL database…

Stan

1 Like

Thank you for your response! Yes, there is definitely limited space on the Photon, I like your FRAM idea, although I was hoping to stream the data off the Photon as it was being gathered, maybe 10k at a time or so. I will be gathering sound at 6kHz, so that reduces my memory load a bit.

The idea is to have lots of these little guys at various test sites (around the world) and gathering data into a central database.

I am looking into the TCPclient library for the outgoing connection…