How to force TCP on ARGON to connect to Particle Cloud

Hello,

I am a graduate student and have had trouble getting my ARGONs to connect to the Particle Cloud here at school. The IT Network guys setup a special IoT network for us, and it works great with the PHOTON and other WiFi IoT devices, but NOT the ARGON. (@micromet you might be interested in this)

I recently found out that our university blocks all incoming UDP traffic, and this seems to be the reason that my ARGON never breathes cyan, only flashes cyan with one red blink at the end and then starts over. I am almost positive this is the reason it won’t connect, as the PHOTON uses TCP and has no issues.

Additionally, the IT guys showed me that the ARGON associated and successfully connected with the network, so I imagine that the blinking cyan is cause by no acknowledgement/ response from the Particle Cloud due to my school blocking all incoming UDP traffic.

SO, my question is: is it possible to force the ARGON to communicate with the Particle Cloud over TCP instead of UDP?

Thanks!

Hey SammyG,

It does sound like the blocking of UDP traffic is the issue here about not getting your device online. All mesh devices, including the Argon, are only able to talk to the Particle cloud through UDP. So unfortunately, there are no TCP options at this time.

I’m not certain, but I believe if your school allowed for inbound and outbound UDP traffic over 5684, it should get online. I’m not 100% though, @avtolstoy can fact check me on this one!

EDIT: I’d originally typed 5683 UDP but this is incorrect. It is actually 5684!

@SammyG I’d like to make a small correction: it’s UDP 5684 defined as coaps (DTLS-secured CoAP). Devices connecting over TCP will use 5683 defined as coap [1].