How can I download firmware for electron? And then in which location should I save it?

Hello all!

The question might seem too much basic, but I’m really new to both particle electron device as well as for flashing the firmware. I’ve downloaded firmware from girhub through this link https://github.com/spark/firmware ,I’ve also installed particle-cli on my gut bash MINGW64 for windows.
Moreover, I’ve done the setup using particle setup command. But the next step says to use command “particle flash --serial firmware.bin” but it shows this message: " I couldn’t find that file: serial Flash device failed undefined".
Please guide me. I’m just a beginner.

Thank You,
AJ7

1 Like

You can download the binary file from the web IDE using the cloud icon next to the App’s name. Save it in whatever directory you’re comfortable with, and navigate to said directory using the CLI/command prompt. Then use the flashing commands (preferable DFU over serial).

3 Likes

@Moors7
Hey, I am not able to find the link. Could you please send me the link?
Thanks.

If you want to use CLI to build your project, you need to use particle compile electron <yourProjectPath> first to create the binary.

For CLI builds you won’t need the github repo, since the project gets built in the cloud anyway.

And @Moors7 was refering to https://build.particle.io

See also
https://docs.particle.io/guide/getting-started/build/photon/

And to see the download icon :cloud: have a look here

3 Likes

Hey…
Thanks a lot…@ScruffR

That helped me a lot…I’ve successfully flashed the firmware.
I was having one more question. Is there any support for Ethernet connection with Electron? Or are there any shields or modules available to provide Ethernet connection?

Thanks.