Help with neopixel ring notification

Does anybody have an in depth how to on neopixel manipulation. I have messed around both with the ported library for the spark, as well as the arduino one, but I feel like it’s only scratching the surface of both the potential for use and what I am looking for them to do. I have a few different neopixel rings, 12, 16 and 24. I’d like to use them for a notification setup throughout my home and office, to let me know when people come to my door, when baby is stirring and waking up, use as night lights at night, phone notifications, and finally a clock when there happens to not be anything to display.

I’m very new to the arduino/spark world, and programming in general. So the more in depth and beginner oriented the better. Thanks for the help and any pointers anybody has.

Maybe you can be more specific and tell us what you want us to help you with? :wink:

1.) Have you gotten the Neopixel working?

2.) What are the problems you are having with regards to what you are trying to achieve?

@kennethlimcp

I have the neopixels working. I can adjust color, brightness, speed of the colorwipe, do the rainbow, etc all animations which are included in the library. My problem is other than what the library has already contains for example animations, I don’t know how to program the LED’s for any other styles of animation. Say for instance I want to make a different style notification to scroll around the ring with a few led’s lit, or possibly even one bright one, and a few faded led’s surrounding it on each side. I haven’t come across a How To on programming them. Right now the only thing I have finished is a http post button from my phone that call’s the colorwipe animation I have slightly modified for color, brightness, and speed.