Help with Eagle schematic and layout

Hi @BDub and @kennethlimcp,

I’m building a notification center based on the Core/Photon. So far it works well on my breadboard and I’m getting ready to move to a PCB.

Below is my first ever schematic and I was wondering if after you finish laughing about my terrible design, if you could give me some feedback on it. :smile:

In a nutshell, the system is:

• Powered by a micro-USB 5V 2Amp power supply.
  • Has a TFT display and micro-SD controlled through SPI.
  • Has several sensors, all with a power input from 3 to 5 V.
  • Has a connector header that must supply 1.5 V
  • And has a 1 meter 5V Adafruit Neopixel LED strip connected to it.

I’m not an electrical engineer (as if it wasn’t obvious from the images below), so I would really appreciate all the feedback you can give me.

Thanks so much!
Sergio

Doesn’t look like a complicated circuitry and not too bad for the first time :smile:

• Consider adding decoupling capacitors near the VCC line for each component like microSD for example. 0.1uF should be sufficient
  • What’s the 22k for in the power supply connector?
  • Is that a speaker or a piezo buzzer? I’m not sure if a speaker can simply be connected to a GPO pin
  • Consider shifting LED3.3 to D2 or other pins since D0 and D1 gives you I2C
1 Like

Thanks for the feedback @kennethlimcp!

Great point. I added decoupling 100nf 16V capacitors to the Photon, SD Card, TFT LCD, and the power output.

It is to do a DC to DC conversion from 5 Volts to 1.5 Volts. I'm trying to replicate the power supply of a 1.5V AA battery. Is there a better way to do this?

It is a 0.5W speaker. http://www.puiaudio.com/pdf/SMS-1508MS-2-R.pdf. That is below the 0.66W max consumption per GPIO pin if I'm not mistaken.

Hi @sazp96